Header Ads

Los Angeles Online Critics Society Awards Name Animation Nominees

There's a new kid on the block this awards season- the Los Angeles Online Critics Society awards. The LA Film Critics Association is a long established institution, but the LAOCS is a new organisation that is dedicated to LA-based critics who write for online sources. They have announced their inaugural line-up of year-end awards.

For their Best Animated Feature category, the LAOCS have named an interesting mix of mainstream and independent fare. The two films considered this year's animation front-runners- Pixar's Coco and Cartoon Saloon's The Breadwinner are there, alongside Loving Vincent, The LEGO Batman Movie and Captain Underpants: The First Epic Movie. 

As this is an entirely new organisation, we have no idea what to expect- will they follow their fellow LA Critics and choose Nora Twomey's opus or go down another path?

The categories are more diverse than in other awards ceremonies, with categories such as Best Blockbuster, Best Performance By an Actor Under 23 as well as dividing Best Director into Best Male and Best Female Directors.  There's also a category for Best Animated/Visual Effects Performance, with nods going to Andy Serkis (for War For The Planet of The Apes), Doug Jones (for The Shape Of Water) and Dan Stevens (for Beauty And The Beast).

The winners will be named on January 3, 2018. See the full list of nominees here.