Header Ads

Annecy Festival Reveals Full 2020 Selection For First Online Edition

For obvious reasons, this year's iteration of the Annecy International Animation Festival had to be cancelled. As with numerous other festivals and conventions, however, the organisers are replacing the in-person event with an online edition. Despite the lack of theatrical screenings, the jury will still have access to the films so the competition will proceed as normal. As of this week, the full 2020 selection has been announced.

20 feature films have been selected from a total of 75 submissions. A total of 18 countries are represented, with productions from Egypt, Estonia, Saudi Arabia and Mauritius alongside the more regularly represented likes of France, South Korea and Japan. No features from the US or UK have been selected this year.

The selection for the short film competition had already been revealed. Here an even wider variety of countries are represented, including The Democratic Republic Of The Congo, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Iran. The competing films were selected from a total of more than 3000 across all categories, representing 94 countries.

The festival will run from June 15-20. Due to licensing restrictions, not all titles submitted will be viewable in full online for all ticketholders, but the majority should be. The online festival will include not only the films but also masterclasses, work in progress and making of presentations, with passes set to sell for a very affordable €15 (approximately $16.50 /£13.50). They will be on sale soon through the website.

Official Competition

The Nose or the Conspiracy of Mavericks 
Andrey Khrzhanovsky (Russia) 

Kill It and Leave this Town 
Mariusz Willczynski (Poland) 

Little Vampire 
Joann Sfar (France) 

Jungle Beat: The Movie 
Brent Dawes (Mauritius) 

Lupin III The First 
Takashi Yamazaki (Japan) 

7 Days War 
Yuta Murano (Japan) 

Ginger’s Tale 
Konstantin Scherkin (Russia) 

Bigfoot Family 
Ben Stassen, Jérémie Degruson (Belgium, France)

Calamity, a Childhood of Martha Jane Cannary 
Rémi Chayé (France, Denmark)

Nahuel and the Magic Book 
German Acuña (Chile)


Contrechamp Competition

On Gaku: Our Sound!
  Kenji Iwaisawa (Japan) 

The Old Man – The Movie 
Mikk Mägi, Oskar Lehemaa (Estonia)
 Ayar Blasco (Argentina) 

Accidental Luxuriance of the Translucent Watery Rebus 
 Dalibor Baric (Croatia) 

Beauty Water 
Kyung-hun Cho (South Korea)

My Favorite War 
Ilze Burkovska Jacobsen (Latvia, Norway) 

The Shaman Sorceress 
Jae-huun Ahn (South Korea) 

The Legend of Hei 
Ping Zhang (China)

True North 
Eiji Han Shimizu (Japan, Indonesia)

The Knight and the Princess 
Bashir El Deek, Ibrahim Mousa (Saudi Arabia, Egypt)