Header Ads

Manchester Animation Festival Announces Winners

Manchester Animation Festival
, the UK's biggest animation-focussed event recently wrapped up its in-person portion. As always, the festival came to its climax with the announcement of its award winners. The awards were hosted by Edinburgh Comedy Award winning comedian and writer Amy Gledhill, and took place on November 16.

This year's Film Awards (which are the festival's international competition) comprise Best Feature Film, Best Short Film, Best British Film, Best Student Film, Best Commissioned Film, Best Children's' Film and Best Immersive Film.

For the first time, the winner of the Best Short Film Award will qualify to be eligible for consideration at next year's Academy Award. It doesn't guarantee a nomination, and it definitely doesn't guarantee an Oscar,  but it means the film doesn't require the standard theatrical run, as long as it otherwise follows the rules.

The Industry Excellence Awards recognise individuals working in the fields of storyboarding, character design, character animation and writing.

This year's Manchester Animation Festival saw the biggest line-up yet of panels, screenings and events from big names like Netflix, Disney and Aardman. The festival saw a 22% increase in attendance over the previous year and a 72% increase for the industry focussed Animation Nation.

The online festival runs through until November 30, and includes several shorts programs and panels including the making of Nimona and Chicken Run: Dawn Of The Nugget. Manchester Animation Festival returns 10-15 November 2024.


Script Writing
Frank Cottrell-Boyce for ‘Kensuke’s Kingdom’ (Lupus Films)

Kayvon Darabi-Fard for ‘My Father’s Dragon’ (Netflix)

Character Design
Tom Angell for ‘The Sound Collector’ (ITV)

Character Animation
Freddie Elsom for ‘The Heroic Quest of the Valiant Prince’ Ivandoe (Hanna Barbera Studios Europe)


Short Film
‘The Miracle’ by Nienke Deutz
Special Mention: ‘Whatever Moves is Alive’ by Noémie Marsily

Feature Film
‘Chicken for Linda’ by Chiara Malta and Sébastien Laudenbach

British Animated Short Film
‘All Gucci My Broski’ directed by Harry Plowden

Audience Award
‘King Sausage’ by Mascha Halberstad

Student Film
‘Rising Above’ by Natálie Durchánková

Short Film for Children
‘Dewmini’ directed by Siqi Song

Commissioned Film
‘Ashnikko: Worms’ directed by Raman Djafari
Special Mention: ‘The Lords of Water’ by Golden Wolf

Immersive Award
‘From The Main Square’ directed by Pedro Harres