Header Ads

Suicide Squad Isekai Gets New Trailer and Voice Cast

Over the past few years we've seen an increasing number of western franchises cross over with anime. Companies like Marvel, DC and LucasFilm have offered Japanese studios and creatives the chance to put their own distinctive stamp on iconic series and characters. These are distinct from full-blown coproductions where western creatives are involved directly.

Some time ago Warner Bros Japan announced the new anime series Suicide Squad Isekai, based on the DC Comics characters. They have today unveiled a new trailer, character art, main theme song and voice cast. The latest reveals were made during a special live-stream event on WB Japan's YouTube channel. The series will debut worldwide in 2024.

Suicide Squad Isekai is produced by Warner Bros Japan and  Wit Studio (Attack On Titan Season 1, Vinland Saga).  It is directed by Eri Osada with a screenplay by Tappei Nagatsuki (Re:Zero – Starting Life in Another World) and Eiji Umehara (Vivy - Fluorite Eye's Song). Character design is by Akira Amano (draft) and Naoto Hosoda.

Anime fans will be familiar with the term 'isekai'. It's a genre that has become very popular over recent years, and features a character or characters transported to another world or time. So there is a clue to the series's plot in its title.

Fans of the Suicide Squad movies or comics will be familiar with the basic set up. Amanda Waller assembles a team of notorious criminals to undertake a deadly mission. They are Harley Quinn, Deadshot, Peacemaker, Clayface, and King Shark. Explosive collars are strapped around their necks, so anybody abandoning the mission will have their head blown off.

That's where the similarity with previous incarnation of Suicide Squad will apparently end. In the course of the mission, the Squad are transported to another world through a gate. The other world is a swords and sorcery kingdom populated by orcs and dragons.

The Japanese cast was also revealed, Anna Nagase voices Harley Quinn, Yuuichirou Umehara The Joker, Reigo Yamaguchi is Deadshot, Takehito Koyasu is Peacemaker, Jun Fukuyama is Clayface and Subaru Kimura as King Shark.

Unlike next year's Creature Commandos, Suicide Squad Isekai will not be canon in James Gunn's new DC Universe. Check out the new trailer below.