Header Ads

SDCC: Comic-Con At Home: Previewing The Animation Events




For the first time in its five decades of existence, the iconic San Diego Comic-Con International (SDCC) has had to be cancelled this year, because... well, we all know why. But as with many other of this year's major events scuppered by circumstances, the traditional SDCC will be replaced with a virtual edition. Although nobody would choose these circumstances, this does give millions of people around the world a chance to get something of the Comic-Con experience even if they would never normally be able to attend. SDCC normally prides itself on exclusivity- this year it's open to everyone.

SDCC's Comic-Con At Home will run from Wednesday, July 22- Sunday, July 26. Events will be live-streamed on YouTube, after which they appear to be available to watch on-demand. As always, animation will be represented by a number of events. Read on for a breakdown of the animation relevant panels.

All programs subject to change. Click the links to watch when available.


THURSDAY JULY, 23


Crunchyroll Industry Panel

Thursday, 10AM PDT/ 1PM EDT/ 6PM BST  LINK


The leading streaming service dedicated to anime presents its regular panel to preview upcoming anime and manga coming to the site. Also featuring special giveaways and virtual giveaways. Hosted by Crunchyroll's director of events Adam Sheehan and events manager Lauren Stevens.

Star Trek Universe Virtual Panel 

Thursday, 10AM PDT/ 1PM EDT/ 6PM BST LINK

The panel dedicated to the Sci-fi mega-franchise will include Rick and Morty's Mike McMahan presenting an extended first look at upcoming CBS All Access animated comedy Star Trek: Lower Decks. McMahan will also moderate a discussion with the voice cast.

Cartoon Network Studios: The Art Of  Storyboarding


Thursday, 11AM PDT/ 2PM EDT/ 7PM BST LINK

Cartoon Network presents a masterclass virtual panel, featuring artists behind some of the studio's biggest hit series, sharing their journeys into the industry, what they've learned and offering tips for aspiring storyboard artists everywhere. Panellists include The Amazing World Of Gumball's Mic Graves, Apple and Onion's Chuck Klein and Summer Camp Island's Julia Pott and Alabaster Pizzo.



Solar Opposites

Thursday, 11AM PDT/ 2PM EDT/ 7PM BST LINK


Justin Roiland and Mike McMahan's hit Hulu comedy Solar Opposites comes to SDCC.  The panel features Roiland and McMahan as well as executive producer Josh Bycel and voice actors Thomas Middleditch, Sean Giambrone and Mary Mack, talking all things Solar Opposites. Featuring an exclusive clip of the upcoming second season.

Cartoon Network Studios First Look

Thursday, 12PM PDT/ 3PM EDT/ 8PM BST LINK


Philip Solomon and Lucia Cunningham voice actors from Craig Of The Creek host this panel previewing what's coming up from Cartoon Network in the near future. Special announcements and previews will come from Apple & Onion, Ben 10 vs The Universe: The Movie,  Craig Of The Creek, Mao Mao, Heroes Of Pure Heart, Victor and Valentino and We Bare Bears: The Movie.

Duncanville

Thursday, 12PM PDT/ 3PM EDT/ 8PM BST LINK

The cast and crew of the new Fox animated comedy discuss their favourite moments from the first season and what they're looking forward to in next Spring's second season. The panel includes Executive producers Mike and Julie Scully, Executive Producer and star Amy Poehler, and voice actors Ty Burrell, Riki Lindhome, Joy Osmanski, Yassir Lester, Berry Sodaro and guest stars Rashida Jones and Wiz Khalifa.


75th Anniversary Of Moomin Appreciation



Thursday, 12PM PDT/ 3PM EDT/ 8PM BST LINK


A celebration of Tove Jansson's beloved Moomin stories, as they celebrate their 75th anniversary. The panel will discuss what has made the franchise last for so long and appeal to so many people around the world. Among the panel will be Marika Makaroff of Gutsy Animation, EP of the animated Moominvalley TV Series.



Music For Animation


Thursday, 2PM PDT/ 5PM EDT/ 10PM BST LINK

A discussion on what it takes to create the music and sound from our favourite animated series. The panel includes Central Park's songwriters Elyssa Samsel and Kate Anderson and composers Jefferson Friedman (Harley Quinn) Roger Neill (JJ Villiard's Fairy Tales) Sebastian Evans (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles) and Tim Davies (Trollhunters). Actors Keith David and Alan Tudyk moderate.

Shaman King: Then Now & Tomorrow


Thursday, 2PM PDT/ 5PM EDT/ 10PM BST LINK


Misaki Kido, Ben Applegate and Ivan Salazar of Kodansha Comics take an in-depth look back at the past, present and future of Hiroyuki Takei's supernatural battle manga and anime. Features exclusive announcements and sneak peeks as well as general fanning out over the franchise.

HBO Max & Cartoon Network Studios: Close Enough


Thursday, 3PM PDT/ 6PM EDT/ 11PM BST LINK


Regular Show creator JG Quintel brings his new adult animated comedy to HBO Max and now to ComicCon at Home. Quintel will participate in a panel and table read, featuring co-stars Jason Mantzoukas, Gabrielle Walsh, Kimiko Glenn and Jessica DiCicco. Moderated by Regular Show's William Saylers.



ThunderCats Roar

Thursday, 3PM PDT/ 6PM EDT/ 11PM BST LINK


A panel for Warner Bros Animation's new comedy reboot of the beloved 80's show. Producers Victor Courtright and Marly Halpern-Graser are joined by voice actors Chris Jai Alex, Erica Lindbeck, Patrick Seitz and Max Mittleman for a Q&A session.

Bugs Bunny's 80th Anniversary Extravaganza


Thursday 4PM PDT/ 7PM EDT/ 12 AM BST LINK

What's up Doc? Warner Bros presents an all-encompassing trip through eight decades of one wascally wabbit. Featuring three actors who have played Bugs- Billy West, Jeff Bergman and Eric Bauza, Looney Tunes Cartoons EP Pete Browngardt, historians Leonard Maitlan and Jerry Beck, it looks at Bug's entire history, from theatrical shorts to the new HBO MAX series. Moderated by Community star Yvette Nicole Brown.


Inside The Voice Actor's Studio: Home Edition

Thursday 4PM PDT/ 7PM EDT/ 12 AM BST LINK

Join veteran voice actors Tony Oliver, Dee Bradley Baker, Mary Elizabeth McGlynn and Laura Stahl as they discuss their careers and offer advice on what aspiring voice actors need to know to try and break into the industry. They'll also discuss how the pandemic and other recent events have affected the industry.

Marvel HQ 

Thursday 4PM PDT/ 7PM EDT/ 12 AM BST LINK


This panel covering the more kid-focused side of Marvel will include a behind-the-scenes look at animated series Marvel's Spider-Man: Maximum Venom.



The Blacklist Draws On Animation To Complete Season 7 Amid COVID

Thursday 4PM PDT/ 7PM EDT/ 12 AM BST LINK


This panel will take an inside look at how NBC's live-action crime series The Blacklist used animation to be able to complete unfilmed sections of the series finale, which was being filmed when the shutdown hit.

The State Of The Industry: Animation SuperStars


Thursday 5PM PDT/ 8PM EDT/ 1 AM BST LINK

ASIFA-Hollywood host a lively discussion about the animation industry. ASIFA-Hollywood VP David Derk moderates and is joined by Jorge Guiterrez (The Book Of Life), Peter Ramsey (Spider-Verse), Brooke Keesling (Bento Box), Mike Hollingsworth (BoJack Horseman) and Alonso Ramirez Ramos (Mickey Mouse).


FRIDAY, JULY 23

HBO Max: The Cartoon Network Studios Collection 

Friday, 10AM PDT/ 1PM EDT/ 6PM BST LINK

HBO Max and Cartoon Network share highlights of their collaboration. Featuring show creators Myke Chilian (Tig n Seek), Stephen P. Neary (The Fungies) and Julia Potts (Summer Camp Island) who offer a look inside their shows and exclusive new content.


HBO Max and Cartoon Network Studios: Adventure Time: Distant Lands

Friday, 11AM PDT/ 2PM EDT/ 7PM BST LINK

Adventure Time is returning to our screens for four new specials for HBO Max. This panel will spill all the details behind the first special BMO (now available) as well as offering a sneak-peek of the second special, Obsidian.  Moderator Michaela Dietz (Steven Universe) is joined by EP Adam Muto and actors Glory Curda  (Y5), Olivia Olsen (Marceline) and Ninki Yang (BMO). Mathematical!

HBO Max and Cartoon Network Studios: Infinity Train  

Friday, 12PM PDT/ 3PM EDT/ 8PM BST


Full steam ahead, as creator Owen Dennis, supervising director Madeline Queirpel and writers Alex Horab, Lindsay Katai and Justin Michael assemble to discuss the first two seasons and to preview the upcoming third (coming only to HBO Max).



Harryhausen 100: Into The Ray Harryhausen Archive 

Friday, 1PM PDT/ 4PM EDT/ 9PM BST LINK


Commemorating 100 years since the birth of legendary animator and special effects pioneer Ray Harryhausen,  the Ray and Diana Harryhausen Foundation present an exclusive look into his incredible collection. Ray's daughter Vanessa Harryhausen and Foundation staff John Walsh and Connor Heaney share memories and secrets from the archive, representing a century of cinema magic.

Water, Earth, Fire, Air: Continuing The Avatar Legacy

Friday, 1PM PDT/ 4PM EDT/ 9PM BST LINK


Dark Horse Comics, Abraham Books and Nickelodeon offer a panel looking at how the legacy of the beloved series Avatar: The Last Airbender has continued through comics after the animated version ended.


Adult Swim: YOLO: Crystal Fantasy

Friday, 1PM PDT/ 4PM EDT/ 9PM BST LINK


Adult Swim present a preview of their newest animated comedy YOLO: Crystal Fantasy, premiering August 9. The panel features creator Michael Cusack, writer/actor Tod Manojlovic and actress Sarah Bishop and is moderated by Zach White.


GirlsDrawinGirls: Industry Professional Women Artists in Quarantine: Balancing work, art, homeschooling and life


Friday, 2PM PDT/ 5PM EDT/ 10PM BST LINK


Join GirlsDrawinGirls founder Melody Severns, The Simpsons director Debbie Bruce and Disney Television Animation artists Sherry DeLorme and other professional women artists, as they discuss the challenges of staying productive during the craziness that has been 2020 so far.

Adult Swim: 12 oz Mouse


Friday, 2PM PDT/ 5PM EDT/ 10PM BST LINK


Cult series 12 oz Mouse returned to Adult Swim this month. Join the cast and crew for a panel including creator Matt Maiellaro, editor John Brestan, producer-animator Nicholas Ingkatanuwat and voice actors Mary Spender, Ned Hastings and Paul Painter. The moderator is Max Simonet.

HBO Max: Adult Animation Panel

Friday, 3PM PDT/ 6PM EDT/ 11PM BST LINK


The folks behind Robot Chicken, Samurai Jack, Primal, Black Dynamite, Lazor Wulf and Final Space share their favourite SDCC memories. Panellists include Seth Green, Matthew Senreich, Genndy Tartakovsky, Coral Jones, Henry Bonsu and Olan Rogers.

Zoom Into Xadia: The Dragon Prince


Friday, 3PM PDT/ 6PM EDT/ 11PM BST LINK


The creators and voice-actors from the Netflix fantasy animation celebrate the series so far, as well as offering sneak peeks of upcoming series and answering questions from fans submitted by social media.  The panel includes creators Aaron Ehasz and Justin Richmond, and voice actors Paula Burrows, Jack de Sena, Sasha Rojen, Erik Todd Dellums, Raquel Belmonte, Jesse Inocalla and Jason Simpson.




Bob's Burgers

 Friday, 4PM PDT/ 7PM EDT/ 12AM BST LINK


The cast and crew bring their normal panel back to SDCC, albeit one recorded remotely. Creator Loren Bouchard and cast members H Jon Benjamin, John Roberts, Kristen Schaal, Eugine Mirman, Dan Mintz and Larry Murphy, present never before seen footage, a panel discussion and a fan Q & A.


Crossing Swords

Friday, 4PM PDT/ 7PM EDT/ 12AM BST LINK


The new Hulu adult animated comedy from the producers of Robot Chicken comes to SDCC. Film critic Scott Mantz moderates a panel featuring creators John Harvatine IV and Tom Root, as well as cast members Adam Ray, Tara Strong, Seth Green, Alanna Ubach, Adam Pally and Yvette Nicole Brown. The discussion will include the first season and give attendees an idea of what to expect from season two.

Viz: A Haunting Conversation With Junji Ito

 Friday, 4PM PDT/ 7PM EDT/ 12AM BST LINK


The acclaimed author of horror manga Junji Ito joins from Japan to discuss his work and career, including Uzumaki, an upcoming anime from Production IG and Adult Swim



Archer @Home


Friday, 5PM PDT/ 8PM EDT/ 1AM BST LINK


The regular panel from Adam Reed's award-winning comedy Archer returns in remotely recorded form. EP Casey Willis and cast members Aisha Tyler, Chris Parnell, Judy Greer, Amber Nash and Lucky Yates shoot the shiz and offer juicy details of the upcoming 11th season. 

SyFy: TZGZ's Adult Animated Originals 



Friday, 6PM PDT/ 9PM EDT/ 2AM BST LINK

Preview the four new animated originals coming to SyFy's adult animation block TZGZ: Wild Life, Hell Den, Magical Girl Freindship Squad and Devil May Care. Take a magical 'trip' with the flustered High Wizard as he transports us into the world of each new show. Moderated by Baron Vaughan.




SATURDAY, JULY 25

Warner Archive's Secret Origins Of Saturday Morning Cartoons  

Saturday, 10AM PDT/ 1PM EDT/ 6PM BST LINK

Leonard Matlin and Jerry Beck present a look at the history of one of the most fondly remembered institutions of US popular culture, the Saturday morning cartoon. Joined by Warner Archive's George Feltenstein, DW Ferranti and Matthew Patterson, the panel will look at the evolution of theatrical shorts into fully-fledged TV cartoons.


The Simpsons @ Home

Saturday, 11AM PDT/ 2PM EDT/ 7PM BST LINK

Join Al Jean, Matt Selman, David Silverman, Carolyn Omine, Mike B Anderson and moderator Yeardly Smith as they discuss how the show has been able to continue production remotely amid the pandemic.

Bless The Harts


Saturday, 12PM PDT/ 3PM EDT/ 8PM BST LINK


The cast of the new animated comedy Kristen Wiig, Maya Rudolph, Ike Barinholtz, Jillian Bell and Fortune Feimster, along with EPs Phil Lord, Chris Miller and Andy Bobrow chat about their favourite moments of season one, and look forward to the sophomore season.  This will be accompanied by them trying to create their own paintings of the series cast... while drinking the show's favourite drink- boxed wine.

Disney Plus's Phineas and Ferb The Movie: Candace Against The Universe


Saturday, 12PM PDT/ 3PM EDT/ 8PM BST LINK


Get a sneak peek at the upcoming Disney Plus movie and hear about the origins of the original series. Features creators Dan Povenmire and Jeff "Swampy" Marsh, director Bob Bowen and stars Ashley Tisdale, Vincent Martella, Maulik Pancholy and Dee Bradley Baker.




The Amazing Brutus: Unusual Places To Find A Great Animation Story


Saturday, 12PM PDT/ 3PM EDT/ 8PM BST LINK


Ricardo Arnaiz will share the story behind new animated film project The Amazing Brutus and how great stories can come from the most unlikely sources. Armando Ibarra and his son Christian talk about their inspiration.



American Dad


Saturday, 1PM PDT/ 4PM EDT/ 9PM BST LINK


Supervising director Brent Woods teaches the cast, executive producers and the audience how to draw their favourite American Dad characters. Featuring stars Rachael MacFarlane, Wendy Schaal, Scott Grimes, Dee Bradley Baker and EPs Nic Wegener and Joe Chandler.


Rooster Teeth


Saturday, 1PM PDT/ 4PM EDT/ 9PM BST LINK


Yssa Badiola, Torrian Crawford, Barbera Dunkelman, Fiona Nova, Kerry Shawcross and special guest FJ DeSanto present exclusive reveals and new info about RT projects including RWBY Volume 8, Red vs Blue Zero and Transformers: War For Cybertron Triology: Siege.



Family Guy


Saturday, 2PM PDT/ 5PM EDT/ 10PM BST LINK

Join cast members Seth MacFarlane, Alex Borstein, Mila Kunis, Seth Green and EPs Rich Appel, Alec Sulkin and Kara Vallow to celebrate 350 episodes with a virtual table read. Then they look back at their favourite memories and offer a sneak peek at the upcoming season.



Mexico's Magnificent Stop-Motion Seven


Saturday, 2PM PDT/ 5PM EDT/ 10PM BST LINK


This panel shines a light on these masters of the art of stop-motion, who have between them won 13 Ariel Awards for animation and more awards around the world. They're planning to take the wider world by storm under the guidance of Guillermo del Toro. Featuring Karla Castaneda, Luis Tellez, Sofia Carillo, Juan Jose Medina, Rita Basulto, Leon Fernandez and Rene Castillo, and moderated by Rodolfo Guzman.



Sailor Moon: The Power Of Female Friendship

Saturday, 3PM PDT/ 6PM EDT/ 11PM BST LINK


A celebration of the iconic shojo franchise, and how its themes have resonated with women and LGBT fans for over two decades. The panel features comic book historian Jessica Tseang, voice actors Michelle Ruff, Kate Higgins, Amanda Celine Miller, comic book writer Sam Maggs and activist Chris Bryant.








Cartoon Voices

Saturday, 4PM PDT/ 7PM EDT/ 12AM BST LINK


Voice actor Mark Evanier is joined by fellow VA's Laraine Newman, Bill Farmer, Misty Lee and Dee Bradley Baker to discuss their craft. They will also perform a very odd reading of Little Red Riding Hood.


First Squad: How A Western Story Was Adapted Into A Japanese Anime and Manga

Saturday, 6PM PDT/8PM EDT/ 2AM BST LIST


Misha Shprits discusses the journey that he and his co-creator took to get their original story produced into a real Japanese anime and manga. The Q& A will be hosted by eigoMANGSA's Austin Osueke.



Sunday, July 26




Animated Illustration


Sunday, 10AM PDT/ 1PM EDT/ 6PM BST LIST

Discover some of the basic needs for a 21st-century illustrator and the tools it takes to make the art in the digital age.



Hoops


Sunday, 10AM PDT/ 1PM EDT/ 6PM BST LIST


Get a first look at the new adult animated series from producers Phil Lord and Chris Miller, coming to Netflix this summer. The series features a foul-mouthed high-school basketball coach and is created by Ben Hoffman. Hoffman joins the moderator Max Greenfield as well as a stars Jake Johnson, Rob Riggle, Ron Funches, Natasha Leggero, Cleo King and AD Miles for an irreverent discussion.








Bronies in The Post G4 Era

Sunday, 12PM PDT/ 3PM EDT/ 8PM BST LIST

The organisers of several Pony based conventions discuss the fandom of My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic in its first year since the show's finale. Moderated by James Udan.



HBO MAX: Looney Tunes Cartoons

Sunday, 1PM PDT/ 4PM EDT/ 9PM BST LIST

This panel will take you into the process of how Bugs, Daffy, Porky and co have been brought back for a new generation, while not losing what made them so beloved in the first place. EP Pete Browngardt, supervising producer Alex Kirwan, art director Aaron Spurgeon and actors Eric Bauza. Bob Bergen and Candi Milo will host a loony panel, and will also premiere an all-new cartoon.









Invader Zim Conquers Everything


Sunday, 2PM PDT/ 5PM EDT/ 10PM BST LINK

Celebrate Invader Zim with a panel featuring artists and authors behind recent artbooks and comics based on the hit series. Featuring Chris McDonell, Eric Trueheart, Drew Rausch, Aaron Alexovich and moderated by Jeff Spry. The panel will discuss the origin of the show and what made it such a cult classic and offer exclusive artwork of forthcoming Zim books due out this summer.




Full program here.

AFA is is enrolled in affiliate programs for Amazon and others, and may earn a commission through any qualifying purchase (or through any purchases made in the same session) made after clicking these links or elsewhere on the site.

Join The Conversation