Header Ads

Annecy Awards 'Memoirs Of A Snail', 'Flow' 'Gargoyle Doyle' and More

And so the Annecy International Animation Festival is over for another year. Attendees were treated to numerous screenings, including several premieres, as well as work-in-progress and making-of presentations and panels. But same as every year, it came to its climax with the awards ceremony. The festival received more than 3,400 entries from one hundred countries, that were then whittled down to the final selection of 430 films.

In the feature film category, the Cristal For A Feature Film was awarded to Adam Eliot's (Mary and Max, Harvie Krumpet) stop-motion feature Memoir Of A Snail. The Jury Award was given to Flow, the new film from Latvian animator Gints Zilbalodis director of the remarkable Away.

The Paul Grimault Award was awarded to anime feature Totto-Chan: The Little Girl at the Window, from director Shinnosuke Yakuwa. The Contrechamps Grand Prix was awarded to Isabel Herguera's Sultana's Dream. The Contrechamps Jury Award went to French/ Slovakian/ Czech stop-motion feature Living Large. There were two more wins for Flow, with the film taking home the Gan Foundation Award For Distribution as well as The Audience Award.

In the short category, the Cristal For A Short Film was awarded to French-Portuguese short Percebes. The Jury Award was given to The Car That Came Back From The Sea. The Alexeieff-Parker Award was given to Beautiful Men and the Jean-Luc Xiberras Award For A First Film was awarded to [S}. The Off-Limits Award went to Glass House and the Audience Award For A Short Film was awarded to director Jan Saska's short Hurikan.

In the TV and Commissioned Film Category, the Cristal For A TV Production went to French/Swiss production The Drifting Guitar.  The Jury Award For A TV Series was awarded to My Life In Versailles for the episode Versailles Ghost. The Jury Award For A TV Special meanwhile went to Lola et le Piano a bruits.

The Cristal For A Commsioned Film went to UK production Pictoplasma: Opener 2023, directed by Will Anderson (not the Australian comedian). The Jury Award For A Commissioned Film went to Ted-Ed: How did South African Apartheid Happen and How Did It Finally End? The Audience Award went to The Drifting Guitar.

In Graduation Films (otherwise known as Student Films) the Cristal For A Graduation Film went to Carrotica from German student Daniel Sterlin-Altman. The Graduation Film Jury Award went to Pubert Jimbob, from Belgium's Quirijin Dees.  The prestigious Lotte Reiniger Award, named after the German animation pioneer was awarded to Maatitel from Indian student filmmaker Govinda Sao.

Elsewhere, the Cristal For The Best VR Work was awarded to Gargoyle Doyle from American director Ethan Shaftel.

In the Special Prizes category, the City Of Annecy Award went to the short The Meatseller. The Andre Martin Award For A French Short Film was awarded to the film Butterfly. The Best Original Music Award For A Student Film went to Joko. There was another win for Flow in The Best Original Music Award For a Feature Film. The Young Audience Award went to Hello Summer and the Canal+ Junior Jury Awards went to Noodles au Naturel.

The Festivals Connexion award went to Beautiful Men, and the Festivals Connexion VR Award was handed to Emperor. Finally, the France TV Award For A Short Film was awarded to The Car That Came Back From The Sea.

And so another successful festival has come to a close- congratulations to all the winners! The Annecy International Animation Festival will back from June 8 to June 14 in 2025, with the Annecy International Animation Film Market running from June 10 to June 13. The festival will be putting Hungarian animation in the spotlight.

More Annecy 2024