Header Ads

Winners Announced For The First Quirino Awards

Last weekend saw the inaugural edition of the Quirino Awardsthe first event founded to recognise animation produced in Spanish and Portuguese speaking countries. The ceremony took place in Santa Cruz, Tenerife, in Spain's Canary Islands.

54 nominees, from 10 different countries competed across 9 categories. Winners came from Mexico, Spain, Argentina, Chile and Brazil.

CG animation Ana & Bruno,  from Mexico's Carlos Carrera won Best Feature. Stop-motion The Tiniest Man In The World (from Argentina) won the Best Series category. The Best Short award went to Decorado, a 2D animated short from Spain's Alberto Vázquez, director of Birdboy The Forgotten Children.  The full list of winners is below.

Complete List Of 2018 Winners

   •Best Feature Film: “Ana & Bruno” de Carlos Carrera (México), Producción Altavista Films, Lo Coloco Films, in coproduction with Ítaca Films, Ánima Estudios, Five 7 Media, Argos Servicios Informativos.
   Best Series: “The Tiniest Man in the World" de Juan Pablo Zaramella (Argentina, Francia). Production: Les Films De L’Arlequin, JPL Films, Can Can Club.
   Best Short Film: “Decorado” de Alberto Vázquez (España, Francia). Production UniKo, in coproduction with Autour de Minuit & Abano Producións.     
   Best School Short Film: “Tántalo” de Juan Facundo Ayerbe & Christian Krieghoff (Argentina). Universidad de Buenos Aires.
    Best Commissioned Film: “Cantar con sentido, una biografía de Violeta Parra” de Leonardo Beltrán (Chile). Production: Plastivida y Niño Viejo.
   Best Innovated Work: “The Many Pieces of Mr. Coo” de Nacho Rodríguez (España).
   Best Visual Development: “Here’s the Plan” de Fernanda Frick (Chile). Art direction: Fernanda Frick. Producción María José Barros.
    Best Animation Design: “Caminho dos Gigantes” de Alois Di Leo (Brasil). Animation directors: Tiago Rovida y Henrique Lobato. Production: Sinlogo Animation.

   • Best Sound Design & Origina Music: “Tadeo Jones 2: el secreto del Rey Midas” de Enrique Gato y David Alonso. Sound design: Oriol Tarragó. Original music: Zacarías M. de la Riva.

It was announced that the Quirino Awards will return to Santa Cruz in April 2019.

AFA is is enrolled in affiliate programs for Amazon and others, and may earn a commission through any qualifying purchase (or through any purchases made in the same session) made after clicking these links or elsewhere on the site.

Join The Conversation