Header Ads

Animation Block Party Juried Award Winners Announced

The 2018 Animation Block Party ran July 26-29 in Brooklyn, New York. Highlights of this year's festival included the NYC premiere of MFKZ, an exclusive 30th anniversary screening of Akira,  Pokemon Heroes and Mad Monster Party. The line-up also featured several feature-length programs of juried shorts, themes including Animation For Kids, Experimental, Student Shorts and more.

The Jury was made up of Lizzi Akana, (director/animator Psyop, Hornet, Blue Sky and more), Stephen Neary, (creator of The Fancies from Cartoon Network), and Sarah Schmidt, (the founder of Malt Adult, animation screening night/fanzine).

The winners were:

• Best In Show: Space Between Stars, Samuel W. Bradley (Canada)

• Original Design: Pure Vida, Nata Metlukh  (Estonia)

• Experimental Film: Sparky , xinbaonuzi  (China)

• Narrative Short: An Island, Rory Byrne  (Ireland)

• Student Film: Opening Night, Margaret Bialis  (DePaul)

• Minute Movie: Weird Movies,  Felipe DiPoi  ( Brooklyn)

• Animation For Kids: Moth’s Cafe, Jackie Synder  (SVA)

• Audience Award: Starlight, Tyler Thompson  (USC)